ACC 4100 / ACC 9805: Company & Industry Analysis - Prof. Lilien

Explains analyst reports that are available through other library databases, in addition to S&P Net Advantage

About the Following Databases

The following library databases offer some analyst reports.  Sometimes, there is a lag time from when the reports were issued and when they are made available to academic customers.

The individual databases may have varying industry assigned to an individual company.

Many more analyst reports may be found in Bloomberg, available through the Wasserman Trading Floor-Subotnick Center and some many be found on S&P NetAdvantage. 

Many analyst reports are restricted to current customers and they are not available to the academic community.

Some will be for sale.  You are not expected to pay for an analyst report.

Mergent Online

Offers equity research reports through a subsidiary of Mergent. To locate a report for a specific company:

  • Log onto Mergent Online through the link below or the Newman Library's databases, By Names, and select Mergent Online
  • Select US Company Database Active, then enter company's name or ticker symbol and search
  • Click Reports
  • Select Equity Reports
  • Click on pdf symbol for company's report to display it.  It can be printed or emailed.
  • Scroll down and Competitor Reports are available

Business Insights Global

  • Enter the company name or ticker symbol in the search box
  • A list of investment reports will appear
  • Some of these reports are newly established companies and some rely on machine learning to generate the reports.
  •  

Value Line

Value Line is a service that many individual investors consult as Value Line ranks companies as the safety, timeliness, technical ranking, price stability, price growth persistence, earnings predictability and financial strength and provides independent commentary and industry analysis.  They track about 1,700 companies across 100 industries.

  • Enter the company name or ticker (trading symbol) in the Quote box and select Browse Research.
  • Scroll down the report information.  
  • The Value Line pdf reports are listed and may be viewed.  Each company report follows the same one page format.
  • You may set up an alert to be notified of new reports
  • There are also Industry Analysis reports available within the individual company report.  (The industry names may vary from other databases.)

Gartner

Nexis-Uni

‚ÄčNexis-Uni is the new name for the database Lexis-Nexis, which provides news, company information and legal cases and other information.

  • Log onto the database
  • Under Guided Search, select Company Info in "What Are You Interested In?"
  • Enter the company name in the "Search in All Company Information for"
  • Select "Analyst Reports" in "and show me"
  • Click Search
  • Results are displayed by "Relevance."  Change to Date Newest-Oldest to retrieve the most recent reports first
  • When you display a report, look on the right to "About this Document" for information on the report provider
  • Reports may be saved or emailed

Factiva

Summaries of analysts' recommendations on companies are available on Factiva, among other information.

  • Click Search tab
  • In Subject, select Corporate/Industry News
  • Then, select Analysts' consensus/recommendations
  • Then enter the Company in the Company selection
  • Select the time period you want to search (the default is the last three months but you can change it to different time periods)
  • Results will be listed.  The full text of the results can be displayed.  They can be saved in different formats and printed or emailed.