The Art Directors Club surveys eight decades of top-notch advertising in this colorful, revealing book, from Chesterfield's 1920s cigarette campaign to Nike's Just Do It advertising blitz in the 1980s and 1990s.
Books for TV Commercials
The 100 Best TV Commercials -- And Why They Worked by Bernice Kanner; Michael Conrad (Foreword by)Who cares about commercials? All of us, that's who. The television commercial has become a part of the American narrative, as important a signifier of our times as a great work of literature or a blockbuster motion picture. Indeed, we often care more about the commercials than we do about the programming itself (ask any Super Bowl aficionado). The ad is art . . . and some of the art is brilliant. The hundred commercials in this book are brilliant. They were selected by a team of experts at the Leo Burnett Company, creators of Tony the Tiger and the Maytag Repairman, in collaboration with dozens of advertising pros from around the globe and throughout the industry. Their choices represent the very best that the advertising world has to offer. Together, they portray a half century of human hopes, wishes, and dreams. Bernice Kanner, whose "On Madison Avenue" column in New York magazine was required reading for more than a decade, has taken each of these small masterpieces and analyzed what made them work, why they so successfully moved us, and how they broke through the clutter to become a part of the cultural landscape. From the Marlboro Man to the Energizer Bunny, The 100 Best TV Commercials provides a hundred important lessons in how we communicate and persuade today. It is vital reading for those who create our commercial culture . . . and those who live in it.
Call Number: HF 6146 .T42 K36 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Ad*Access - Image database of ads from 1911-1955, searchable by brand or category. From Duke University's John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History.
Large and growing database of historical British print ads. Once can search using free text or select to view ads by category (industry, product group or (in some cases) brand.
AdViews:A Digital Archive: Provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
Very interesting site that provides current commercials by time, industry and other categories. Also provides some free information on the top spending ads, most engaging ads, etc. Definitely worth a browse.