S&P NetAdvantage-Industry Surveys - ACC 9112: Analyst Reports - Prof. Lonner

S&P Net Advantage Offers Industry Surveys, Including Information on How to Analyze a Company in the Industry

A good place to start for information about how to analyze a company in an industry is S&P NetAdvantage, available through the Newman Library homepage.

S&P NetAdvantage places each publicly traded company in one of the predetermined industries.

The industry surveys are updated each six months. The content of the industry surveys all follow the same format as to the information provided but specific information and suggestions on how to analyze a company in the industry are provided.

How to locate the industry survey for your company:

Log on to S&P NetAdvantage through the Newman Library homepage or the link below.

Enter the company's name or ticker/trading symbol in the search box

First way to locate an industry survey:

In right column, under My Links, click Industry Classification. There will be a primary industry classification. Click on that link to obtain the industry survey. You can also see that there are sub-industries listed for the company. There are no sub-industry reports.

Second way to locate an industry survey:

Enter the company's name or ticker/trading symbol in the search box and search

Scroll down the left column, to Research. Click Industry Surveys to retrieve the industry survey.

S&P NetAdvantage
Current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings for publicly-traded companies; industry surveys; analyst reports; private company, and US and international markets information and data for research and analysis. If you're unable to login, try clearing your browser cache and using our link again.

Example of Industry Survey Content

Standard & Poor's -NetAdvantage

Standard & Poor's (S&P) Capital IQ-NetAdvantage offers independent research on companies.

To find a Standard & Poor's analyst report for a specific company:

Log onto S&P -NetAdvantage through the link below or through the Newman library databases
Once in the database, enter company's name or ticker symbol in the Search Box.
Next, in left column, under My Links-select Investment Research, or under Research-select Investment Research or S&P Equity Research. Report(s) by Standard & Poor's analysts will be available, as well as other analysts.
Select the date range you want to research.
Contributors will provide the names of companies that are providing analyst reports.

S&P NetAdvantage
Current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings for publicly-traded companies; industry surveys; analyst reports; private company, and US and international markets information and data for research and analysis. If you're unable to login, try clearing your browser cache and using our link again.

Searching Factiva for Analyst Information and Company Information

Example of Analyst Information available on Factiva

Factiva
Provides global news, business, and financial information from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals. Includes information on companies and industries, and financial profiles. Try our search tutorial.

Mergent Online

Mergent Online offers equity research reports through a subsidiary of their company.

To locate a report for a specific company:

Log onto Mergent Online here or the Newman Library's databases, By Names, and select Mergent Online
Select US Company Database Active, then enter company's name or ticker symbol and search
Click Reports
Select Equity Reports
Click on pdf symbol for company's report to display it. Report may be printed or emailed.
See help in Searching Databases in right column for some screen shots showing these steps.

Example of Mergent Analyst Report
Recent report on The Cheesecake Factory (CAKE)

Business Insights: Essentials

Gale Business: Insights
Company and industry information: profiles, news articles, chronologies, rankings, SWOT analyses, market share, market size, etc.

Example of Research Report on Ralph Lauren

Value Line Investment Survey

Value Line Investment Survey is consulted by many individual investors. It is updated weekly, on Fridays. The Newman Library has a limited number of users. Please logoff when you are finished.

Logon to Value Line through the link below or the Newman Library databases, By Names, and select Value Line.
Enter company name or ticker symbol in the search box in upper right cornerand search.
Display analyst report in either pdf or html format.
See Help in Searching Databases above for some screen shots showing these steps

Example of Value Line Report for McDonald's

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni is a database that has many business and legal resources. To locate the few analyst reports available:

Using the link below, log into Nexis Uni
In lower right, go to Get Company Information and enter either the ticker symbol or the company name you want to search.
You may need to select a specific company from the results if there are more than one company with the name you are searching or the ticker symbol has been used by different companies.
A Company Report is displayed, with links to SEC Filings, Zack Investment Reports, Other Reports and Analyst Reports.
Select report(s) and display them.
They may be emailed or printed or downloaded.

Alternative search:

Advanced Search enables you to build a search, limiting the search and results to specific time periods and sources or keywords.

Nexis Uni