The databases are collections of individual records of books, book chapters, reports, academic journals, and general interest publications and newspapers. They are produced by commercial vendors and student tech fees, and other funds, help provide access to them.
Off campus, enter your Baruch user name and password to gain access to these databases.
The descriptions for the databases found below are written specifically relating to international nonprofit organizations. The same databases are listed in the Newman Library's homepage under Databases, both by subject and by name. The descriptions of databases searched through the library's homepage are more general.
Some Database Search Tips
Like OneSearch, many databases have pre-determined subject headings used to organize articles and reports in their collections. Searches may also be done by keyword(s), or by known publication titles and article titles, or authors/creators. One you conduct a search, and retrieve a result, there many be subject headings with hyperlinks available in the article's information. Clicking on the hyperlinks to retrieve other articles in database with the same subject heading.
Results are often first displayed by relevance but may be changed to the most recent or oldest appearing first.
Each database offers some search tips. In many, quotation marks are used to search phrases such as "nonprofit organization" or "international nonprofit organization.
Set up alerts: To keep up-to-date on articles in specific publications or on specific topics, such as international nonprofits and evaluation, that are recently published, you may set up an alert in many databases after you do an initial search. The alerts may be set up to re-run your searches at selected intervals (daily, weekly, monthly) and for specific lengths of time -for a week, month, three months, six months.
Some databases contain a combination of news, general interest and academic and peer-reviewed publications. Limiting these searches to academic or peer-reviewed publications may be done by selecting this option.
Review the Databases by Subjects under Databases and Other Research Guides on the Newman Library homepage to all the databases available through the library.
Use your Baruch username and password to access for free the digital editions of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
The subscriptions are available for a year, and may be renewed as long as you are a CUNY student, staff or faculty member.
International Encyclopedia of Civil Society by 
Encyclopedia of Governance by 
Encyclopedia of Modern China by Working papers are pre-published versions of articles or reports. Sometimes they are presented at conferences or posted to receive comments. Some are later accepted and published in journals or as books or book chapters.
In addition to these resources, please the tab with country and United Nations information as the organizations listed have information about the impact of the pandemic.
Websites
Library Databases:
Databases with current new articles,reports on impacts on countries, and searchable for past articles:
If you see "Find It" after doing a search and selecting an article to read, it means that the full-text of the article is not available in the database you are searching. It may be available in another database. Click on Find It to be linked either to the full-text in another database, or to see that if you want the article it can be ordered by Interlibrary Loan. There is no cost directly to students or faculty for such requests. Most articles are available electronically.
Database vendors reach agreements with publishers of journals, books, newspapers and others to make their publications available.
No one database has access to all publications and some have exclusive arrangements to be the only electronic access to current issues of a publication. (This is similar to subscriptions to streaming films--some films are only available on one source while others may be available on several.
An embargo occurs when the most recent issues of journals are not available for either 30 days, a year or 18 months or longer from a database.
The articles may be available in another database or not available in any Baruch databases. If so, request the article or articles through interlibrary loan.
