Research Guides: CUNY SPS: Introduction to Business Resources: Market Research

Find Market Share or Market Size Data

Gale Business: Insights
Company and industry information: profiles, news articles, chronologies, rankings, SWOT analyses, market share, market size, etc.
Statista
Data on companies, industries and consumers from sources including government agencies, market research, trade organizations, consultants and business publishers. All tables and charts can be downloaded.
Passport (Euromonitor)
Market research reports include tables with market share for both companies and brands.

Market Research

Market research firms gather competitive intelligence specially tailored to the needs of particular clients. Their reports often provide exclusive market share, market size, distribution channels, and brand or product information. They feature analysis of consumer demographics and profiles of key competitors.

Newman Library has many databases for market research.

Featured Database

Passport (Euromonitor)
(Baruch & SPS users only) Global market research database covering over 200 countries and 17 economic regional groups. Provides statistics (including forecast data via the Interactive Statistical Database), strategic analysis, reports, profiles and breaking news on industries, countries, companies, and consumers worldwide.

Market Research Databases

Business Source Complete
This business news database includes industry reports from Marketline (formerly Datamonitor) . Marketline Industry Profiles cover the U.S., Europe, Asia and South America. Search by industry name and the word Marketline (change the default to "All Text").
eMarketer
Sources on digital marketing, advertising, media, and e-commerce.
IBISWorld
IBISWorld provides industry analysis for over 700 U.S. industries and hundreds of global industry reports.
MarketResearch.com
Provides reports from Fredonia, Kalorama, Packaged Facts and other market research firms. Covers consumer goods, services, technology, life sciences and heavy industry sectors. (Our subscription does not include the company reports in this database.)
Mintel Academic
Market research reports and news on many consumer products. Covers many emerging and niche industry sectors.
Passport (Euromonitor)
(Baruch & SPS users only) Global market research database covering over 200 countries and 17 economic regional groups. Provides statistics (including forecast data via the Interactive Statistical Database), strategic analysis, reports, profiles and breaking news on industries, countries, companies, and consumers worldwide.

Advertising Databases

WARC
Articles, reports and case studies on marketing and the advertising industry worldwide. Includes ad forecasts, brand profiles, and campaign strategies.
ABI/INFORM Global
Find articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business.
Winmo
Profiles 13,500 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Information on 24,000 U.S. and international companies whose annual advertising spending is more than $200,000.
eMarketer
Provides data and insights from thousands of sources on digital marketing, media and advertising. Search or browse by topic, industry, audience or country.