Research Guides: Federal Income Tax Research Sources: Databases for Tax Policy Research

Current News Sources for Tax Policy Information

Along with the tax databases, which will offer information about proposed tax legislation dealing with policy issues; news sources and business and trade publications will provide additional information. Academic and economic studies frequently look at policy questions dealing with taxes.

ABI/INFORM Global
Find articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business.
Alt-Press Watch
Newspaper and magazine articles from the alternative and independent press.
Business Source Complete
Search over 3,000 business magazines and trade journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
CCH AnswerConnect
Topical research guide covering tax, antitrust, securities and business law; integrates current law and regulations with relevant case law, administrative materials and authored articles. Includes case archives and tax legislative history.
CQ Researcher
Research current, emerging and controversial topics. Reports include milestone dates, the merits of opposite viewpoints, and sources for further research.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines of the ethnic minority and native press with a special focus on African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Chicano, Native American, Asian-American, Jewish, Arab-American and European-American news
Factiva
Provides global news, business, and financial information from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade journals. Includes information on companies and industries, and financial profiles. Try our search tutorial.
Bloomberg Tax
(Baruch users only)
Before you can use this database, you must first be on campus and use the Academic Self Registration page to set your own account.

Federal and state court decisions, rulings and regulations on income, estates and gifts, foreign income, and real estate taxes; tax planning sources for international taxes; and BNA TAX portfolios explaining these topics; federal tax forms and tax related news.

Databases with Academic or Economic Studies on Tax Topics and Policies

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Reports from think tanks and research organizations covering issues related to world politics, diplomacy, social issues and the economy.
Conference Board
An independent research organization that provides economic analysis of the U.S. economy, surveys of Fortune 500 companies, case studies, and research on management issues such as training, HR, compensation and corporate governance.
EconLit with Full-text
Indexes over 450 of the top journals in economics, economic threory and economic history.
ICPSR
Archive of social science data for supporting quantitative research. The data are available in a collection of files that include relevant documentation.

To download data, you will need to create a unique password. For further help, please contact the official representative, Prof. Michael Waldman.
NBER Working Papers
Full-text of working papers in economics from the National Bureau of Economics Research(NBER).
Policy File Index
Reports and studies on public policy issues from think tanks, universities, government agencies, and research organizations.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
A repository of social science research containing abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming articles and a collection of over 100,000 downloadable full text documents.

Subject Guide

Harold Gee

Email Me

Contact:

Harold Gee

151 E. 25th St., Room 323

(646) 312-1625

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Companies, Finance, Information Studies, Real Estate

To Search SEC Filings for Tax Policy Information

You may want to search filings made by public companies with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for information about their taxes, and disclosures of the impact of pending tax changes or newly enacted laws.

To search SEC filings:

SEC.gov
Free site by the Securities and Exchange Commission. Offers the past four years of filings.

S&P Capital IQ
(Baruch users only)
Financial data, analytics, and research on public and private companies, bonds, funds, and industries.
S&P NetAdvantage
Current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings for publicly-traded companies; industry surveys; analyst reports; private company, and US and international markets information and data for research and analysis. If you're unable to login, try clearing your browser cache and using our link again.

Baruch college | Newman Library

Federal Income Tax Research Sources

Suggested Databases for Researching Tax Policy Questions

Current News Sources for Tax Policy Information

Databases with Academic or Economic Studies on Tax Topics and Policies

Subject Guide

To Search SEC Filings for Tax Policy Information