Company analysis contains an evaluation & examination of a company, its financial health & prospects, management strategy or marketing activities & its strengths & weaknesses. There are several types of company analysis:
Market Research: typically cover industries and product categories including coverage of individual competitors (which may also include privately held companies) if they are major industry players. While the focus of these reports will be on the company's market strategy, expect to find sales and other financial data.
Management Reports will cover aspects of the company's operations including sustainability, organizational philosophy, initiatives, core values and mission statements, goals and objectives and much more.
Articles:Articles can be extensive treatments of a company including case histories. Look for in-depth articles in:
Scholarly Journals: There are scholarly journals for most business disciplines (e.g., marketing, management, finance, etc.). Articles submitted for publication undergo a rigorous peer review process. Business databases such as ABI/Inform Global and Business Search Complete let you limit a search to the scholarly literature.
Trade Journals: There are numerous trade journals for each industry. Trade journals provide continuous coverage of corporate developments. Articles include company coverage that may not be found in the national business press.
Earnings Transcripts: Conference call presentations by top management to analysts, investors and shareholders. Management discuss current corporate financial health, outcomes of various strategic initiatives and financial outlook.
Analyst Reports: Analysis for buy, sell, hold recommendations with detailed company analysis to support the recommendations.
News from emerging market countries along with company profiles and industry information from analysts, rating agencies, stock exchanges, government agencies and independent consulting firms.
Capital and operational histories on over 10,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000 non-U.S. public companies. Details property, subsidiaries, executives, equity, debt, financial statements, and ratio analysis. Supply Chain tab, formerly Mergent Horizon, details company relationships: competitors, suppliers, partners, corporate customers, and interrelationships of product and services.
Current and past stock prices, annual reports, SEC and Canadian SEDAR filings for publicly-traded companies; industry surveys; analyst reports; private company, and US and international markets information and data for research and analysis. If you're unable to login, try clearing your browser cache and using our link again.
Company ratings and reports with over 10 years of historical data including sales, profits, and earnings per share. Reports include share price projections and a financial forecast.
SEC FILINGS
Look to the company's annual 10K for an in-depth overview of the company's finances and activities. In particular, look to:
Section 1 -- Risk Factors - a discussion of company or industry operational risks impacting the company.
Section 7 -- Management Discussion and analysis of corporate activities
Section 7A -- An overview of market risk - a discussion of financial and market factors that could have an impact on the company.
Market research reports, analyst insights, and other media intelligence on numerous industries (known as “sectors”), thematic trends and consumers. Only US and UK information is provided with the Baruch subscription.
In addition to industry and product category analysis, Passport contains excellent and in-depth corporate reports. Select the "Companies" tab at the top of the page and type in the company name.
Factiva content includes full text Wall Street transcripts for individual companies. For the most precise search,
- Click "subjects" on the left side. Begin typing earn & click the blue arrow next to "earnings" from the drop-down.
- Click "subjects" on the left side. Begin typing transc & click on the blue arrow next to "transcripts" from the drop-down.
- Click "company" on the left side. Begin typing your company name. Click on the blue arrow next to your company.
- Scroll up to the top and type the word and in between each code. EX: ns=ntra and fds=amzcom and ns=c151
-Select the time-frame (one year, two years, etc.)
Find articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business.
Over 3000 business magazines, trade journals and academic business journals are included in this database. Business Source complete also has SWOT reports on companies.
Type name of company in the “look up Factiva code” section on right. Click “look up”. Click on company name. Click on “add to search”. Type “and, or, etc. to search statement and add any additional terms.
Type company name into search box and change the drop down menu from "Select a Field (Optional) to CO Company Entity. Scroll down and look on the right side for "Publication Type" box. Select "SWOT Analysis". Scroll back up and click the green search button.
Industry profiles, country risk analysis, financial market reports, and company profiles with SWOT analysis. Covers 22 industry sectors in 70 global markets.
