The library subscribes to databases that provide industry reports. There are essentially two types of reports:
Financial Reports
These reports are mainly written by Credit Rating agencies and focus on the financial risks and opportunities of the industry at large. This guide provides a link to two of these library databases.
S&P NetAdvantage - Each report provides a detailed overview of the industry and the major companies within that industry. Each report also has a section analysing the industry using Porters Five Forces.
FitchConnect - Each reports provides up-to-date analysis of a broad industry, trends within that industry and conditions affecting it. Each report also provides a SWOT analysis of the industry.
Market Research Reports
Market Research Reports also provide in-depth analyses of industries with a focus on selling (i.e., how they sell, where they sell, to whom they sell and the competitive environment.)
The library subscribes to numerous Market research databases. Once again, it pays to be flexible with your search terms. For example, "medical concierge" information can be found by searching: physicians, concierge medicine, retainer based medicine, doctors, etc.)
Trade associations are primarily the lobbying arm for specific industries.
Although individual company information is rarely, if ever provided, these associations provide detailed information about the financial health and trends of the industry they represent. The information is sometimes behind a paywall, but many trade associations do provide industry data and information freely on their websites.
Look for terms on the homepage like "information", "data", "research", etc.
Many industries are regulated or overseen by government agencies. These agencies often provide detailed data about the industry itself. A particular benefit to the government generated industry information is that the data are provided using industry specific metrics. Sometimes, company financial information can also be accessed through the government agency websites.
Trade Journals
Most industries/product categories are tracked in trade journals that provide continuous and updated coverage of:
and much more.
While the business magazines occasionally contain articles on an industry, the trade journals specialize in that industry. Many trade journals have websites that contain access to some of the articles and overviews contained in the journal itself.
Library Databases
The library databases provide access to thousands of business magazines, trade journals and academic/scholarly journals. They are especially useful for:
