Research Guides: CUNY SPS: Sociology: Finding Articles

Tips for Using Databases

To connect to databases and find articles, use your CUNY SPS Username and Password to connect remotely to Newman Library's subscription databases via this webpage.

Create a list of keywords (terms) that describe your topic, and use these keywords when searching the databases.

If you do not find articles with your keywords, try searching again with alternate terms and synonyms/antonyms.

If you do not find articles with alternate terms, try using another database or Ask A Librarian for help.

Finding Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

Full Text Sociology Journals

Want to know which sociology journals are available through the library's databases?

Browse full-text Social Change journals by Title

Browse full-text Social Conditions journals by Title

Browse full-text Family & Marriage journals by Title

Browse full-text journals on Communities - Urban Groups by Title

Browse Sociology Journals in Browzine

Key Sociology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text
Database with the full text for selected journals, monographs, books, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles covering addiction studies, area studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, law, public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work, sociology and urban studies.
JSTOR
Note: this database does not include recent journal articles (most are at least 2-5 years old).

Premier database for deep access to back issues of scholarly journals from a wide range of subject areas.
APA PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
The place to begin any search for sources in the field of psychology. Over 5 million records for journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. Formerly known as PsycINFO. Learn how to use APA PsycInfo
Sage Journals
Full text access to over 500 journals in the fields of communications; education; health sciences; management and organization studies; political science; psychology; and sociology.
Social Science Citation Index
Find who cites whom in social science journals published from 1956 to the present. This database is part of the Web of Science database.

Social Explorer
Social Explorer is dedicated to providing easy access to demographic information about the United States. It contains hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States, including historical data back to 1940.

Other Helpful Databases

For a list of all databases the Newman Library subscribes to, go here.

Academic Search Complete
Contains full text access to nearly 3,200 magazines and journals covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Part of EBSCOhost.
Alt-Press Watch
Newspaper and magazine articles from the alternative and independent press.
Annual Reviews
Essays by scholars discuss current trends and recent important research in the fileds of science, Psychology, Sociology, Political Science and Anthropology.
Black Thought and Culture
Essays, letters and other papers from over 1100 African American authors that document historic events and contemporary culture.
Business Source Complete
Search over 3,000 business magazines and trade journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The premier database to find scholarly journal articles, research reports, and articles in professional journals in education and allied fields.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines of the ethnic minority and native press with a special focus on African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Chicano, Native American, Asian-American, Jewish, Arab-American and European-American news
Nexis Uni
Search regional, national and international newspapers, law, legislation and court cases. Find company profiles and business and industry news. Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
PAIS Index
Find articles and research reports on international public policy, social and economic issues, and international relations.
Policy File Index
Reports and studies on public policy issues from think tanks, universities, government agencies, and research organizations.
Project MUSE
Full text access to 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Sage Research Methods
Use this database to help design research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Focused on methodology, not disciplines, so it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Documents from 74 archives spanning the time period 1600-2000.