Pedagogy of the Streets: Porto 1977

Approaches to Conducting Further Research

This page sets forth some approaches to conducting further research.  If you are part of the Baruch community of faculty, students and staff, the added search boxes should provide you access to resources at the Newman Library on and off campus with the appropriate username and password. 

Please note if you are a member of the General Public you should consider using a local public library such as New York Public Library by visiting their website at nypl.org and accessing the appropriate databases using your library card.    

Finding Content Using Newman Library databases

Find appropriate Databases by subject at the Newman Library

Subjects to consider:

  • Interactive Art 
  • Social Justice
  • Lefebvre, Henri and metaphysics
  • Carnation Revolution

Also, consider using the box to the right known as OneSearch to search across select databases for books, articles and more... 

How to Search?

Think of search terms to use in constructing your initial search.  Depending on your research topic, it may be helpful to use a Subject Encyclopedia or Dictionary.  These are sometimes referred to as "Background Resources" since they may offer key facts and details about a topic.

Consider using the "General and Reference" list of databases at the Databases by Subject page at the Newman Library

Advice on Searching:

Be a Proactive Searcher who decides to revise a search by reviewing the results and thinking of new ways to improve the results.  Frankly, searching is an iterative process requiring that a series of successive searches be performed in order to find relevant information. 

For instance, you could add another search term or:

  • Limit by Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed
  • Limit by Subject
  • Limit by Date
  • Limit by Full-text

And, more...

OneSearch

OneSearch

Find books, articles, videos, and more!

Other Search Suggestions to Consider

What is the "Pearl Growing" Search Technique?

If you find a relevant article (precious like a pearl), you can review the bibliography or list of references to determine if there may be other relevant articles cited (other pearls, as if they could be grown) to consider. 

Depending on whether the relevant item is a Book (title search in the library catalog) or an Article (journal title search), you can then try to find the item. 

The search boxes below allow you to Search for Books and Articles Only at the Newman Library.   

Search for Books in OneSearch

OneSearch logo

TIP: If you know the title, put it in "quotation marks"

Find a Journal Online

Enter the name of the journal, newspaper, or magazine you're looking for.