This course examines the nature, production, value and uses of information in historical perspective; the latest developments in information technology; the ways information is produced and disseminated and how they affect business, politics, media, science, arts and culture; the growth of the information society; and major information policy issues.

• Identify the nature, value, and uses of information in the past and present
• Describe the principles of the organization, production, and dissemination of information
• Describe the impact of the latest developments in information technology on social, cultural, political, and economic institutions
• Analyze the major issues in information policy and ethics
• Be able to identify an information need, find and evaluate information, and use information for a specific purpose
• Apply knowledge gained from coursework to analyze a major information policy issue

See the Classroom Activities page for details of what we'll do in class.

January 28 - Tuesday

• Introductions
• Class survey

January 30 - Thursday

• Getting started with the course blog
• Engaged reading

February 4 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 1 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

February 6 - Thursday

February 11 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 2  (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

February 13 - Thursday

February 18 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 3 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

February 20 - Thursday

• No class today

February 25 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 4 in (and the bibliography for that chapter) Here Comes Everybody
• By now, you should have written 2 of the 5 blog posts and 3 of the 10 comments

February 27 - Thursday

• Homework #1 due

March 4 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 5 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody
• Homework #1 due

March 6 - Thursday

March 11 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 6  (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

March 13 - Thursday

• Homework #2 due

March 18 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 7 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

March 20 - Thursday

March 25 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 8 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

March 27 - Thursday

April 1 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 9 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody
• Homework #3 due

April 3 - Thursday

April 8 - Tuesday

• Read chapter 10 (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody

April 10 - Thursday

• No class

April 15 - Tuesday

• No class (spring break)

April 17 - Thursday

• No class (spring break)

April 22 - Tuesday

• No class (spring break)

April 24 - Thursday

• Read chapter 11  (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody
• Team 1 presentation

April 29 - Tuesday

• Team 2 presentation
• Team 3 presentation

May 1 - Thursday

• Read Epilogue (and the bibliography for that chapter) in Here Comes Everybody
• Team 4 presentation
• Team 5 presentation
• Team 6 presentation

May 6 - Tuesday

• Quiz

May 8 - Thursday

May 13 - Tuesday

• Homework #4 due

May 15 - Thursday

• Last day of class
• Homework #5 due
• All blog posts and comments must be done

May 20 - Tuesday

• Final exam from 3:30 - 5:30