Dewey, Caitlin. "#Bringbackourgirls, #Kony2012, and the Complete, Divisive History of ‘Hashtag Activism’." Washington Post, 8 May 2014. Web. 20 May 2014.

Net Neutrality

Definition of "common carrier"

Course Evaluations

• Login for course evaluation site

Homework #4 Discussion

Creativity and the Law

Quiz

• Discuss results

Copyright and remix culture

• Watch parts 1-3 of Everything Is a Remix

Quiz

Group Presentations

• Team 4 on chapter 10
• Team 5 on chapter 11
• Team 6 on the epilogue

Group Presentations

• Team 2 on chapter 8
• Team 3 on chapter 9

Copyright

Group Presentations

• Team 1 on Chapter 7
• Questions about the group presentation assignment

Chapter 11 in Here Comes Everybody

• Discuss difference between promise, tool, and bargain
• In-class activity
• Each team identifies a social website or app where they can identify the promise, tool, and bargain

Homework

• HW #3: still grading
• HW #4: due on May 8
• HW #5: due on May 15

About 10 April 2014 (Thursday)

• No class
• But you must do blog post with reaction to Generation Like video (watch the whole thing). Instructions for this assignment can be found on the course blog.

Group Presentations

• Team 1 goes first on April 24 (first day back from spring break)

Thinking about How Information Gets Produced and Disseminated

• Evaluating and understanding a source
• Basic questions
• In-class activity
• In a class-wide worksheet in Google Docs, each group will analyze a specific source and answer questions about that source

Networks and Discourse

• In-class activity
• Finish up personal blog posts on Watts and Strogatz article
• "Biz Stone, Pt. 2." Online video clip. The Colbert Nation. The Colbert Report, 31 Mar. 2014. Web. 3 Apr. 2014.
• start video at the 2:30 mark
• Norton Sociology. "The Strength of Weak Ties: New animation from Dalton Conley." Online video clip. YouTube. YouTube, 28 Feb. 2013. Web. 3 Apr. 2014.

How to Find a Book Review

• In-class activity
• Use the database called Book Review Digest Plus to find book reviews of Clay Shirky's Here Comes Everybody

Monetizing User Generated Content

• "Generation Like." Online video clip. Frontline. PBS, 18 Feb. 2014. Web. 3 Apr. 2014
• watch first 25 minutes (watch the rest by April 10 on your own time; by class time for April 10, please compose a blog post with your reactions to this video; length: 2-3 paragraphs; details of this blogging assignment can be found on this blog post I wrote)

Homework #3

• Disucssion

Chapter 9 of Here Comes Everybody

• Discussion
• bridging capital vs. bonding capital
• what Eli Pariser (filter bubble) and Clay Shirky might agree on

Networks and Discourse

• Research as conversation
• Web of Science
• Demo
• As inspiration for Larry Page and Sergey Brin for Google's PageRank (see this 1998 paper they wrote that mentions work of Eugene Garfield)
• In-Class Activity
• Each group uses the Web of Science database to find the 1998 article by Watts and Strogatz on small world networks (it was published in a journal called Nature)
• Once you find the article, take a look at the references that the authors cite in their article and the sources that cited their article later on.
• Find answers to these questions:
• How many sources did  Watts and Strogatz  cite? How would you characterize the subject areas/disciplines of the sources they cite? 
• How many sources cite the  Watts and Strogatz  article? What are the top 3 authors who cite this article? What kinds of journals tend to cite this article the most, a moderate amount, and the least? How would you characterize the pattern of citations over time (going up, going down, level, random?)
• Write an individual blog post  (nota a group one) that tells a story about this article. Use as many of the answers to the questions above as you can to tell that story.

How Commerce Operates on the Web

• "How Advertisers Use Internet Cookies to Track You." Online video clip. WSJ Live. Wall Street Journal, 30 Jul. 2010. Web. 27 Mar. 2014.
• Indiana University. "How Do I View and Control Cookes in My Internet Browser?" University Information and Technology Services. Indiana University, 2013. Web. 25 Mar. 2014.
• http://kb.iu.edu/data/ajfi.html

• Google Ads. "What Is AdWords?" Online video clip. YouTube. YouTube, 20 Jul. 2011. Web. 27 Mar. 2014.

• Pariser, Eli. "Beware Online 'Filter Bubbles."" Online video clip. TED. TED, Mar. 2011. Web. 27 Mar. 2014.

In Class Activity

• Log into your Google account, then take a look at the profile that Google has created about you:
• https://www.google.com/settings/ads/preferences?hl=en
• Then take a look at your search history on Google:
• http://www.google.com/searchhistory/
• Then take a look at the Don't Track Us website:
• http://donttrack.us/
• Then take a look at the Escape Your Search Engine's Filter Bubble website:
• http://dontbubble.us/

For More Info on Profiling Users

• Mattioli, Dana. "On Orbitz, Mac Users Steered to Pricier Hotels." Wall Street Journal, 23 Aug. 2012. ABI/Inform Global. Web. 27 Mar. 2014 .
• Scism, Leslie, and Mark Maremont. "Insurers Test Data Profiles to Identify Risky Clients." Wall Street Journal, 19. Nov 2010. ABI/Inform Global. Web. 27 Mar. 2014 .

Homework

• Discussion of HW#2
• Announcement about HW#3
• Checking how many blog posts and comments you've written

Chapter 8 of Here Comes Everybody

• Reading a bibliography

How the Web Works

How Search Engines Work

Chapter 7 of Here Comes Everybody

• In-class activity
1. Each team goes to this Google Doc and adds in five minutes:
• Names of people mentioned in the chapter (and page number for first mention)
• Names of companies, organizations, institutions, and places mentioned (and page number for first mention)
• Ideas, concepts, buzzwords, key phrases (and page number for first mention)
2. We'll review the list and add to it
3. Each team highlights (in bold) the things on the list that are the most important

History of the Internet

Homework #2

In-ClassActivity

• Finish up team blog posts started in class on Tuesday

Discussion of Group Presentation Project

• Team 1: chapter 7
• Team 2: chapter 8
• Team 3: chapter 9
• Team 4: chapter 10
• Team 5: chapter 11
• Team 6: epilogue

Database Demo: Gale Virtual Reference Library

• History of the web
• History of the internet
• Biographies of key figures in web and internet history

Homework #2

• Due this Thursday

Chapter 6 of Here Comes Everybody

• Read aloud
• p. 148: "The old limits on sharing information were the first thing to change..."
• p. 159: "One way to think about the change in the ability of groups to form and act..."
• Mind mapping

Create your own mind maps at MindMeister
• In-class activity
• Each team:
• identifies a social issue that they want to advocate for
• comes up with a plan for organizing people using communication tools
• writes a blog post detailing:
• what the issue is
• an overview of the for organizing using communication tools
• an explanation of why some online communication tools were not selected
• pros and cons list for each communication tool selected
• explanation of how this organizing would have been done in the days before the web (pre-1993)

Class Wiki Project

• Here Comes Everybody (wiki that we'll build together)

Homework #1 Due

IN-CLASS ACTIVITY

• Each team will closely examine the New York Times website and think about all the ways it is the same and different. In reviewing the print and web editions, consider:
• Content & Design
• What content is uniquely in the paper? on the web edition?
• What features and functionality are uniquely in the paper? on the web edition?
• What can you do with the print edition that you can't do with the web edition? what can you do the the web edition that you can't do with the print one?
• How would you compare overall the design aesthetic of the two?
• Relationship between the NY Times and readers
• What evidence can you find about ways that the web edition is received/responded to by readers online (both on the NY Times website and elsewhere on the web)?
• What if any evidence can you find that the readership of the print edition is not the same as the web edition?
• Each team will assign one person to write a blog post for the team that presents that list of those things that have changed and that have stayed the same. Everyone on the team should be suggesting things to add to the blog post (i.e., don't just let one person do all the work!)

Chapter 5 of Here Comes Everybody

Wikis

• Udell, Jon. "Heavy Metal Umlaut." Online video clip. Jon Udell, 22 Jan. 2005. Web.  4 Mar. 2014.
• link
• Wikipedia contributors. "Pareto principle." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 13 Feb. 2014. Web. 4 Mar. 2014.
• link

Homework #1

Chapter 4 of Here Comes Everybody

• Read aloud
• p. 105 (from "This pattern of coevolution of technology and society is..." to the end of the chapter on p. 108
• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Each team will closely examine the New York Times website and think about all the ways it is the same and different. In reviewing the print and web editions, consider:
• Content & Design
• What content is uniquely in the paper? on the web edition?
• What features and functionality are uniquely in the paper? on the web edition?
• What can you do with the print edition that you can't do with the web edition? what can you do the the web edition that you can't do with the print one?
• How would you compare overall the design aesthetic of the two?
• Relationship between the NY Times and readers
• What evidence can you find about ways that the web edition is received/responded to by readers online (both on the NY Times website and elsewhere on the web)?
• What if any evidence can you find that the readership of the print edition is not the same as the web edition?
• Each team will assign one person to write a blog post for the team that presents that list of those things that have changed and that have stayed the same. Everyone on the team should be suggesting things to add to the blog post (i.e., don't just let one person do all the work!)

Digital Nation

• http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/digitalnation/view/
• As you watch, write down the name of every expert on the screen. Think about which experts are likely to be publishing books, articles, etc. and which ones are just experts because they have first-hand experience with some topic being focused on in the documentary. Which experts are more valuable to you? Why? Does it depend in what you need to do with the information from those experts?

Database Searching

• Distinguishing between newspapers, magazines, and journals in search results
• Searching for publications by author name

Academic Search Complete

Academic OneFile

ABI/Inform Global

Library Catalog

• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Using a library database, find an article by one of the experts mentioned in Digital Nation. Make sure that you use the author field search. When you have found an article, post it to the blog with the following info:
• citation in MLA style
• what database you used to find the article

Chapter 4 of Here Comes Everybody

• Read aloud
• p. 105 (from "This pattern of coevolution of technology and society is..." to the end of the chapter on p. 108

Chapter 3 of Here Comes Everybody

• Read aloud
• p. 77 "Publishing used to require access to a printing press" to p. 78 "...embedded within society itself, ubiquitously available to a majority of citizens."
• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Each team contributes to shared Google Doc

Digital Nation

• http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/digitalnation/view/
• As you watch, write down the name of every expert on the screen

Chapter 2 of Here Comes Everybody

• p. 45: "What happens to tasks that are worth the cost of managerial oversight?"
• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Mind map for chapter 2
• What should the central node be?

Digital Nation

• http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/digitalnation/view/
• As you watch, write down the name of every expert on the screen
• Watch up to the 28-minute mark.

Homework #1

• detailed on Assignments tab

Sharing Google Docs

• share with my Gmail address, not my Baruch address
• changing sharing settings so I can comment on your document

Reading Citations

• Overview

• MLA Formatting and Style Guide (from the Purdue OWL site)

• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Each team gets copies of the worksheet and identifies the type of source for each of the 7 items

Chapter 1 of Here Comes Everybody

• Finish mind maps
• One group presents their map

Library Website

• Take the survey about what to call a certain category of pages

Course Blog

• Thanks to those who've already started to write new posts!
• You must sign up for email delivery of posts (9 still haven't completed the process)

Authority

• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• Each student researches a professor at Baruch they know
• Write a blog post summarizing which subjects the professor is an expert in
• Discuss Homework #1
• Due February 27 before class starts
• Details on Assignments page

Course Blog

• Sign up for email subscription to new blog posts (instructions)

Collaboration Teams

Finding a Specific Article on the Library Website

• In-Class Activity
• Working with your collaboration team, figure out how to find the Ashley Parker article from the New York Times in one of the library's databases (not the nytimes.com website)

Discus Chapter 1 of Here Comes Everybody

• Discuss selected passages
• In-Class Activity
• Each team develops a mind map using the handout

The Course Blog

• Logging in
• Customizing your profile
• Subscribing to email delivery of new posts
• Writing posts with links
• Commenting on other people's posts

Mind Mapping

• Parker, Ashley. "With Social Media’s Rise, the Pulpit Isn’t Just the President’s Anymore." The New York Times. 28 Jan. 2014. Web. 29 Jan 2014.
• link

• Introductions
• Stephen
• members of the class
• take the classroom survey (password protected)
• interview the person next to you by gathering the following information
• how do you pronounce the person's first name
• what neighborhood or town does the person live in
• what is one surprising or unusual thing about the person
• About the class
• Course website
• Course outline
• Assignments
• Reading
• Classroom Activities
• Course Guidelines & Policies
• Announcements
• Course blog
• Take the survey about technology and social media use
• View the survey results