A well respected source with online news summaries

This journal focuses on the geopolitics, economics, history, society, culture, international relations and forces for change in the modern and contemporary Asia-Pacific. It also offers translations from Japanese, Chinese, Korean and other languages.

Published from 1960 to 1970 by the International Institute for the Study of Religions in Tokyo
it was revived in 1974 as the Japanese Journal of Religious Studies.

This journal is a publication of the Early Modern Japan Network (EMJNet), an interdisciplinary, international community of specialists of early modern Japan (ca. late 16th to late 19th century).

an international academic journal in the Social Sciences and Humanities that publishes research and scholarly writing on all issues related to contemporary Japan.

This site "provides €œPress Briefing -€ a handy report which gives up-to-the-minute background information reflected in the editorials of major Japanese newspapers, in plain and concise form, on news items on the Japanese economy, politics, diplomatic activities, society, business, culture, and other matters of topical interest."

A refereed journal including shorter Research Notes, Review Articles as well as annotated translations of important texts.

Provides daily news and features from the most widely read English-language newspaper in Japan.

A semi-annual journal dedicated to the academic study of Japanese religions. First published in 1960 as Contemporary Religions in Japan.

Provides American Library Association-Library of Congress rules for Romanization of Japanese characters.

This online dictionary offers many features, including multi-radical lookup. It also provides roughly 160,000 bilingual example sentences.

Converts Kanji/Kana into Roman characters.

This page provides a collection of annotated links to online Japanese dictionaries.

This online collection encompasses several thousands of works of Japanese-language fiction and non-fiction. Most of the texts provided are Japanese literature and translations from English literature. The resources are searchable by category, author, or title; and all the books are in Japanese, you can access the books as HTML, plaintext, or eBook.

A free citation index to articles in East Asian Studies published in Japanese, Chinese and a number of European languages. Search by title and author.

A free database containing indexes to journal articles, including the NDL Journal Periodicals Index, with full-text for some fifteen hundred journals.

The homepage of Embassy of Japan contains links to information on highlights of daily news, the Japan Exchange and Teaching program, an embassy guide, visa applications, a profile of Japan, culture, education, political affairs, economic affairs, press releases, and Japan-related links.

The homepage of Embassy of Japan contains links to information on highlights of daily news, the Japan Exchange and Teaching program, an embassy guide, visa applications, a profile of Japan, culture, education, political affairs, economic affairs, press releases, and Japan-related links.

JETRO is a nonprofit, Japanese government related organization dedicated to promoting trade and economic relations between Japan and other nations. Its homepage provides a variety of business resources, such as online databases, government programs and support centers, projects and consulting groups, government reports and statistics, and library collections on books, magazines, and media. The information is divided by the following broad subject areas: exports, investment, government publications, library catalogs, business Japanese tests and language lessons, an Asian trade promotion forum, and links to other Japan-related sites. In addition, this site provides the most complete Japanese market reports totaling nearly 400. It is one of the best online resources for trade information about Japan.

The Japan Foundation is the first established international cultural exchange organization in Japan. This site is offered in English and Japanese with information on Japanese culture as well as arts and language programs. It contains updated issues of several Japanese newsletters, links to the various institutions and centers that promote and offer international cultural exchange programs, and a searchable database for opportunities of grants and fellowships in Japan. It is a useful site for Japanese language teachers as well as scholars and researchers in the field of Japanese studies.

This site offers comprehensive and up-to-date information on traveling and living in Japan. It provides information about traditional and contemporary Japan, and links to other Japan-related online resources, such as Japan A-Z, Japan travel news, and shopping.

This site offers an excellent selection of both statistical and analytical information about Japan. The links are arranged by topic, including governmental and public offices and organizations; business and market information on companies, banks, foreign press centers; and resources on Japanese daily news; cultural and social related information; mega lists on Japanese search engines; classified links; Japanese FAQs; as well as other interesting sites on Japanese culture and society, articles on traveling experiences in Japan, a literary tour of Japan, and the Japanese language and art.

As Japan's national library, it is similar in purpose and scope to the U.S. Library of Congress. In addition to all publications published in Japan, it maintains an extensive collection of materials published in foreign languages on a wide range of topics.

Foreign Press Center is an independent, private, and nonprofit foundation that helps foreign journalists make practical arrangements for news coverage and filming. It includes the arrangement of interviews with Japanese government officials, political leaders, and businessmen, and on-site coverage of manufacturing plants and research laboratories. The page provides links to Nikkei news, Japan market, and company watch. Its Asia Web guide provides access to information about Japan, Asian and Pacific countries, news publications, and business directories.

Move the cursor over the characters to display the On-yomi, Kun-yomi, meaning(s), stroke numbers and other information. The Kanji drill is included.Move the cursor over the characters to display the On-yomi, Kun-yomi, meaning(s), stroke numbers and other information. The Kanji drill is included.

This pictorial vocabulary guide is good for beginners. It is part of the LanguageGuide.org project. To hear how a vocabulary is pronounced, simply place the cursor over an object or text.

This site provides an array of realistic conversational situations by level of Japanese mastery.

by Sheau-yueh J. Chao