Research Guides: Women's Studies: Finding Articles

Key Women's Studies Databases

Academic Search Complete
Contains full text access to nearly 3,200 magazines and journals covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Part of EBSCOhost.
Alt-Press Watch
Newspaper and magazine articles from the alternative and independent press.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women’s Issues
Articles from magazines, journals, newsletters, pamphlets, and more.
JSTOR
Note: this database does not include recent journal articles (most are at least 2-5 years old).

Premier database for deep access to back issues of scholarly journals from a wide range of subject areas.
Project MUSE
Full text access to 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Database with the full text for selected journals, monographs, books, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Documents from 74 archives spanning the time period 1600-2000.

Other Helpful Databases

American Periodicals
Digitized images of 1,500 American periodicals, both popular and scholarly, published between 1740 and 1940.
Black Thought and Culture
Essays, letters and other papers from over 1100 African American authors that document historic events and contemporary culture.
Business Source Complete
Search over 3,000 business magazines and trade journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines of the ethnic minority and native press with a special focus on African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Chicano, Native American, Asian-American, Jewish, Arab-American and European-American news
Humanities Source
Journal and magazine articles about art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, literary and social criticism, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Nexis Uni
Search regional, national and international newspapers, law, legislation and court cases. Find company profiles and business and industry news. Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
PAIS Index
Find articles and research reports on international public policy, social and economic issues, and international relations.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles covering addiction studies, area studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, law, public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work, sociology and urban studies.

Full Text Women's Studies Journals

Want to know which women's studies journals are available through the library's databases?

Browse full-text Gender Studies & Sexuality journals by Title

Browse full-text Social Conditions journals by Title

Browse full-text Family & Marriage journals by Title

Browse full-text Gay & Lesbian journals by Title

Tips for Using Databases

Use Newman Library databases to find articles.

Create a list of keywords (terms) that describe your topic, and use these keywords when searching the databases.

If you do not find articles with your keywords, try searching again with alternate terms and synonyms/antonyms.

If you do not find articles with alternate terms, try using another database or Ask A Librarian for help.

If you are off campus, use your CUNY Login to connect to the databases.

Subject Guide

Linda Rath

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library
Room 422
Baruch College
Box H-0520
151 E. 25th St
New York, NY 10010

Subjects: Anthropology, Graduate Students, Information Studies, Mental Health Counseling, Public and International Affairs, Sociology, Women's Studies