I found a citation/abstract of an article in a database, but the full text isn’t available. What do I do?
Look for the Find It! @ CUNY button on the screen, and click on it. If the article is available in another database, a link to the database will be provided.
I used the Find it! button, but the article isn’t in any of the Newman Library databases. What do I do?
(Or how do I request an article or book using Interlibrary Loan?)
You can request an electronic version of the article through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services using ILLiad. Newman Library will try to locate an e-version for you. It may take a few hours or days to get the article. Use your Baruch username and password to login to ILLiad. (You will need to set up your account the first time you log in. The form will ask for your contact information, school affiliation, and your library ID number. Your library ID number is on your Baruch ID and starts with 21716.) Due to library closures and precautions for the COVID-19 pandemic, the ILL services will not be able to send print materials and books to you.
To request an item via ILL, go here: https://ill.baruch.cuny.edu/
How do I know if an article I find in a database is from a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?
Most databases can limit search results to only display scholarly articles. Look around on the search screen for “filter” or “limit” options, and choose “scholarly journals,” “academic journals,” or “peer-reviewed.” Or check for a list of publications in the database, which will state the kind of source it is.
Which database has a journal/newspaper?
I want to find a specific journal, or I have a citation for a specific journal and need to know if it is in any of the Newman Library databases.
From the library's homepage, Click on Define Your Search > Journals; then search by journal or newspaper title.
I'm comfortable with Google's interface. Can I use Google Scholar to find articles?
Yes, but you will not have access to the full-text of the articles. However, Google Scholar via the Newman Library is configured to work with some of the library’s databases, and you will connect to full text articles. Please note that it doesn’t work with all library databases, so you will need to use other databases for a thorough search. Warning: Google Scholar does not vet the journals it indexes, and search results will include articles in questionable sources such as predatory journals and academic vanity presses.
I found a lot of articles, books, and reports during my literature review. How can I organize all of my citations in one place?
Citation Management Software
You can save, manage, and share your citations by using citation management software, which integrates with Microsoft Word and can be used with most library databases. The library recommends RefWorks and Zotero. Use RefWorks or Zotero while searching library databases, and save your sources/citations to your RefWorks account or to Zotero.
If you only want to create a bibliography, use web-based citation generators. Add your citations or manually type citation information into a form to create a bibliography. You can cut and paste your bibliography into a paper or share it. (If you need to store, manage, and organize your citations over a period of time, use citation management software instead of a citation generator.)
How do I cite this article, book, interview, etc. within my paper or add a source to a reference list?
Should I choose “Databases” or a OneSearch option on the library’s website?
So, if you choose a OneSearch option ...
So, if you choose Databases, ...
Will librarians read my paper/thesis question and provide writing suggestions?
Librarians recommend information sources and search strategies. Professional writing consultants at The Writing Center at Baruch College offer support and strategies to improve your writing. The Writing Center has online resources, online services (chat, email), and one-on-one help via appointment. Questions related to writing specific papers and other assignments should be answered by your instructor or capstone advisor.