Graduate Student Services

Find It! @ CUNY

I found a citation/abstract of an article in a database, but the full text isn’t available. What do I do?
Look for the Find It! @ CUNY button on the screen, and click on it.  If the article is available in another database, a link to the database will be provided.  

Find it! at CUNY button
 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

I used the Find it! button, but the article isn’t in any of the Newman Library databases. What do I do?
(Or how do I request an article or book using Interlibrary Loan?)
You can request an electronic version via the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) services using ILLiad. Newman Library will try to locate an e-version for you. It may take a few hours or days to get the article. Use your Baruch username and password to login. (You will need to set up your account the first time you log in. The form will ask for your contact information, school affiliation, and your library ID number. Your library ID number is on your Baruch ID and starts with 21716.)

To request an item via ILL, go here: https://ill.baruch.cuny.edu/

Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles

How do I know if an article I find in a database is from a scholarly/peer-reviewed journal?
Most databases can limit search results to only display scholarly articles. Look around on the search screen for “filter” or “limit” options, and choose “scholarly journals,” “academic journals,” or “peer-reviewed.” Or check for a list of publications in the database, which will state the kind of source it is.

Finding a Journal or Newspaper

Which database has a journal/newspaper?
I want to find a specific journal, or I have a citation for a specific journal and need to know if it is in any of the Newman Library databases. 

From the library's homepage, Click on Define Your Search > Journals; then search by journal or newspaper title.

 

Define your search to find a journal in a library database

Google Scholar

I'm comfortable with Google's interface. Can I use Google Scholar to find articles?
Yes, but you will not have access to the full-text of the articles. However, Google Scholar via the Newman Library is configured to work with some of the library’s databases, and you will connect to full text articles. Please note that it doesn’t work with all library databases, so you will need to use other databases for a thorough search. Warning: Google Scholar does not vet the journals it indexes, and search results will include articles in questionable sources such as predatory journals and academic vanity presses.

Managing Citations (Your Sources)

I found a lot of articles, books, and reports during my literature review. How can I organize all of my citations in one place?

Citation Management Software
You can save, manage, and share your citations by using citation management software, which integrates with Microsoft Word and can be used with most library databases. The library recommends RefWorks and Zotero. Use RefWorks or Zotero while searching library databases, and save your sources/citations to your RefWorks account or to Zotero.

Citation generators

If you only want to create a bibliography, use web-based citation generators. Add your citations or manually type citation information into a form to create a bibliography. You can cut and paste your bibliography into a paper or share it. (If you need to store, manage, and organize your citations over a period of time, use citation management software instead of a citation generator.)

 

 

Citing Sources (APA, MLA, and Style Guides)

How do I cite this article, book, interview, etc. within my paper or add a source to a reference list?

  • The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is a helpful site, with in-text citing rules and paper formatting for APA and MLA styles http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
  • Many databases will suggest how to format a citation a bibliography or reference list. You will need to choose the style (APA, MLA, Turabian, etc.), and then you can cut and paste. Often, when you email an article to yourself, you can save the citation format as well.
  • When in a library database, you can export or save the citation to your RefWorks account or Zotero. You can use tools within RefWorks and Zotero to work with Microsoft Word while writing your paper or to generate a bibliography, as well.
  • Microsoft Word has some References/Citations functions. The Reference tab in Word has options

OneSearch or Library Databases

Should I choose “Databases” or a OneSearch option on the library’s website?

Define Your Search Options

 

OneSearch

  • allows you to search across hundreds of library databases, simultaneously, through one interface
  • is convenient
  • can be an excellent starting point for your research/literature review
  • does not search every library database (for example, Onesearch does not include data & statistics and company reports)
  • and may list a lot of irrelevant items

So, if you choose a OneSearch option ...

  • you may miss key articles and other sources if you only use OneSearch
  • you may need to use a few filters to limit your search results to narrow down to more relevant items
  • we still suggest connecting to individual, subject specific databases

 

Databases

  • will show you the A-Z list or a Subject list of all the databases available for you to search
  • allows you to perform a thorough and focused search in one specialized database
  • allows you to use all of the advanced search features and functions within that databases

So, if you choose Databases, ...

  • you will need to decide which database to search
  • you will need to search several databases for your research/literature review
  • you will need to be comfortable searching databases made by different companies and with different interfaces and functions; so, it may take some practice to become familiar with these differences

Writing Help

Will librarians read my paper/thesis question and provide writing suggestions?

Librarians recommend information sources and search strategies. Professional writing consultants at The Writing Center at Baruch College offer support and strategies to improve your writing. The Writing Center has online resources, online services (chat, email), and one-on-one help via appointment. Questions related to writing specific papers and other assignments should be answered by your instructor or capstone advisor.

 

Subject Guide

Linda Rath's picture
Linda Rath
Contact:
Newman Library
Room 422
Baruch College
Box H-0520
151 E. 25th St
New York, NY 10010