Research Guides: SOC/ANT 4110: Research Methods: Finding Articles

Searching in databases

Use Newman Library databases to find articles.

Create a list of keywords (terms) that describe your research method, and use these keywords when searching the databases.

If you do not find articles with your keywords, try searching again with alternate terms and synonyms/antonyms.

Some common words used in articles discussing research methods are:

research design
methodology
quantitative
qualitative
mixed methods
surveys
social surveys
questionnaires
interview
focus group
case method
case study
narrative inquiry
data collection
and etc.

If you are not able to find articles using your terms, try using another database or Ask A Librarian for help.

If you are off campus, use your CUNY Login to connect to the databases.

Key Sociology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text
Database with the full text for selected journals, monographs, books, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles covering addiction studies, area studies, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontology, law, public administration, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work, sociology and urban studies.
JSTOR
Note: this database does not include recent journal articles (most are at least 2-5 years old).

Premier database for deep access to back issues of scholarly journals from a wide range of subject areas.
Annual Reviews
Essays by scholars discuss current trends and recent important research in the fileds of science, Psychology, Sociology, Political Science and Anthropology.
Project MUSE
Full text access to 300 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Social Science Citation Index
Find who cites whom in social science journals published from 1956 to the present. This database is part of the Web of Science database.
AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters, and bulletins.
Sage Research Methods
Use this database to help design research projects, conduct research, and write up findings. Focused on methodology, not disciplines, so it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Other Helpful Databases

Alphabetical list of databses.
Subject list of databases.

Academic Search Complete
Contains full text access to nearly 3,200 magazines and journals covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Part of EBSCOhost.
Business Source Complete
Search over 3,000 business magazines and trade journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines of the ethnic minority and native press with a special focus on African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Chicano, Native American, Asian-American, Jewish, Arab-American and European-American news
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find articles covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Abstracts 4,000 biomedical journals. Updated monthly.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The premier database to find scholarly journal articles, research reports, and articles in professional journals in education and allied fields.

Subject Guide

Linda Rath

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library
Room 422
Baruch College
Box H-0520
151 E. 25th St
New York, NY 10010

Subjects: Anthropology, Graduate Students, Information Studies, Mental Health Counseling, Public and International Affairs, Sociology, Women's Studies