Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of industry performance. Publishers gather data from the financial statements of hundreds of firms to calculate industry averages. Often they break out the results into categories based on the asset size of the companies. These are then used as a benchmarking tool in comparing a company's performance to that of its industry.
The key source for industry ratios is the Annual Statement Studies published by the Risk Management Association (RMA). You will find the print editions in the library's reference stacks. RMA ratios are also available online in the IBISWorld database.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Reference 2nd Floor HF5681 .B2R6
Sixteen common ratios along with balance sheet and income statements for over 780 lines of business. Data comes in six groups of sales ranges for companies earning under one million to those earning over twenty-five million. Data is organized by NAICS code.
Another key source of industry ratios is Dun & Bradstreet's database of Key Business Ratios. Ratios are computed from Dun and Bradstreet’s large database of financial statements for public and private companies. Provides solvency, efficiency, and profitability ratios as well as industry norms for U.S. companies.
If your industry is not covered by RMA or by Dun & Bradstreet, try one of these print sources available in the Library's reference collection. These source are also useful if you need historical ratios.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
(located in the 2nd floor reference collection at HF5681 .R25I53)
Ratios for over 800 lines of business published by Dun & Bradstreet.. Comparison data for the industry is measured at the median and upper and lower quartiles. Data is organized by SIC code. Our collection begins with 1978-- .
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
(located in the 2nd floor reference collection at HF5681 .R25T68)
Selected ratios for 192 industries calculated from tax returns filed with the IRS. Ratios are broken out for companies in thirteen different asset size ranges. Data is organized by NAICS code. Our collection begins with 1971-- .