PAF 9330: Introduction to Higher Education - Prof. Bolitzer, Fall 2020

How to search for a specific journal or magazine by name

Use the Journal Title Search to Search for Peer-Reviewed Journals Relating to Higher Education

This is also found on the library's homepage, under Define Your Search and then scroll down to the Journal, Newspaper and Magazine Title search.

Covers of Some of the Journals

Cover of Journal of College Student Development

Cover of The Review of Higher Education

About Interlibrary Loan for Articles Not Available Electronically

Although the Newman Library, and many other libraries are closed, you can still submit a request for a journal article that is not available electronically through Baruch's resources. Interlibrary loan requests are made at no cost to you. If available electronically, it will be emailed to you.

Search and Research Tips

To help with your research, here are some tips:

If you find a helpful article in a peer-reviewed journal, review the cited references, usually at the end of the article, for other articles that may be helpful for your research.

Connectors are used to build searches in the databases and searches for articles within a journal or other publication:

AND will find records (an article or book chapter) where both terms or phrases are found 

Example: tuition and enrollment

OR will find records that have either term or phrase that you are searching.  It is a broader search than an or search

Example: tuition and (enrollment or graduation rates)   This search will look for records that includ enrollment or graduation rates and tuition

NOT will eliminate the search term or phrase following not.  This connector may be helpful to reduce the number of search results.  However, if you were searching tuition and college and entered "and not private, " all records mentioning private colleges, including articles including public colleges would be eliminated.

What Do "Find It" and "Embargo" Mean?

If, in your search results, you see "Find It at CUNY," that means the database you are using does not have the rights to have the full-text of the article you want to read.  (It's like not all films are on one service so we have Netflix, Amazon Prime, and others.)  If you click on Find It, you will be shown databases where the article is available.  Or, you might be directed to request it through Interlibrary Loan. 

 

Sometimes a journal isn't available in a database for the most recent year or 18 months.  This is called an "embargo."  There may be another database that has the article, or you can make an Interlibrary Loan request.

Research Tip: Set Up Alerts

To keep up-to-date on what's being written on your topics, most of the databases and journals offer alert features.

If you set up a journal alert, you will be notified when a new issue of the publication is available. 

If you are doing research on topics or individuals, you may set up alerts in which your search(es) will automatically be run again in the database at time intervals you select (usually daily, weekly or monthly), and for selected periods of time (for a week, several months, or a year).  These alerts may be very helpful for long-term assignments, and some allow you to set up alerts to share with a group.

Once you have done a search, look for "Set up alerts," or "Stay Connected" or "Get Content Alerts" on the journal's or database's page.

Links to Recommended Peer-Reviewed Journals

The following tiles are leading peer-reviewed higher education journals. 

Links are provided to the specific journal title and the years available in a specific database.  You can also search for these journals from the library's homepage and going to Define Your Search - Journals.

Why is a journal available in more than one database?  Over time, journals may contract with different database vendors that make the journals available to libraries.  Some databases focus on current years. Others, such as JSTOR, focus on their large back files of journal issues, many going back to the first issues of the journal.

If the dates for a journal in a database include "to present", that means the most recently published issue is available.

From off campus, you will be asked for your Baruch user name and password to access the databases with the journals.