Research Guides: Immigrants in New York City: Using Databases

What is Find It!

When a database does not include the fulltext of an article, use the Find it! @ CUNY button.

Find it! will link you to the fulltext if it is available in another database.

If the article is not available through Find it!, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Articles will be sent to your Baruchmail within 1 to 3 days.

Academic Search Complete
Contains full text access to nearly 3,200 magazines and journals covering academic areas of study. Part of EBSCOhost.
Gale Academic OneFile
Articles from magazines and scholarly journals from a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly articles in all subject areas. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal, in some cases going back as far as the 1800s. Current issues are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Database with the full text for selected journals, monographs, books, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles in all areas of the social sciences.
America: History & Life
The core database for locating journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines of the ethnic minority and native press with a special focus on African-American, Hispanic, Latino, Chicano, Native American, Asian-American, Jewish, Arab-American and European-American news
Nexis Uni
Search regional, national and international newspapers, law, legislation and court cases. Find company profiles and business and industry news. Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.

The New York Times
Activate your Academic pass to the NYTimes.com. Search the New York Times on Nexis Uni or use the Digital Archive of the New York Times covering issues from 1851 to 2011.
Brooklyn Newsstand
Search the Brooklyn Eagle (1841-1955) and Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published from 1890 to 1931.
The Bronx Times
Covering the Bronx since 2005.