PAF 9450: International Development - Prof. D'Souza, Spring 2022

News

These databases offer daily news stories from newspapers throughout the world.  Back issues may also be searched.

All Baruch students and faculty may receive the digital editions of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal for free.

See the information in the links below to start your academic accounts.

About the databases

These databases are available through the Newman Library..  

If you are off campus, you will be asked to enter your Baruch user name and password to search and retrieve articles.

Some of the databases enable you to set up alerts to learn when new issues of a journal are available in the database, or to have your search terms run again  each day, week, or month for a selected time period, so that you will be notified of any newly published articles on your search topics.

While some of the databases have a specific subject focus, many offer news and research articles on a number of topics from a number of sources.  Development economic topics are often multi-disciplinary and searches may be needed in a number of databases.

More databases are listed on the Newman Library homepage,  under Define Your Search  - Databases.

Databases Offering Working Papers

What are working papers?

They are a  preliminary  versions of scientific or technical papers. Often, authors, academics and other researchers,  will release working papers to share ideas about a topic or to receive feedback before submitting to a peer-reviewed conference or academic journal.

Economics

The following databases offer academic (peer-reviewed) research articles and sometimes news, opinion pieces and general publications: