Research Guides: Political Science : Articles

Political Science Databases

Here are some essential databases which focus on the discipline of Political Science. Visit our library page for a Complete List of Databases.

Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database that contains both scholarly and popular articles.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Social issues with topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, magazine and newspaper articles, and links to key associations and think tanks.
CQ Researcher
Current, emerging and controversial topics.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Reports from think tanks and research organizations covering issues related to world politics, diplomacy, social issues and the economy.
New York Times
Current and archive articles.
Policy File Index
Reports and studies on public policy issues from think tanks, universities, government agencies, and research organizations.
PAIS Index
Articles and research reports on international public policy, social and economic issues, and international relations.
Social Sciences Full Text
Concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of political science.
govinfo
Official Federal Government publications. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office
Nexis Uni
Regional, national and international newspapers, law, legislation and court cases.
JSTOR
Full text of major journals in all fields.Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal, in some cases going as far back as the 1800s. Current issues are not entered into the database for 2 to 5 years.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Index to over 300 journals and magazines covering all branches of the military and government.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and more.

Find a Journal Online

Enter the name of the journal, newspaper, or magazine you're looking for.

Data and Statistics Sources

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A statistical reference and guide to over 250 statistical publications and sources from government and private organizations.

Data.gov
Home of the U.S. government's open data program. Find over 280,000 data sets. Browse by topic or filter by organization or location.
USAFacts
USAFacts was inspired by Steve Ballmer and now works with academic institutions to make government data available. Focuses on Finance (How does money flow in and out of government?), and Population and Metrics( What is the impact of government?).
Data USA
Search, map, compare, and download U.S. data. This site aggregates federal open data from multiple sources and displays it in interactive visuals. A project of MIT Media Lab and tech companies Deloitte and Datawheel.
U.S. Data and Statistics
A brief guide to where to find data from the Census and other government agencies. From USA.gov.

ICPSR
Archive of social science data for supporting quantitative research. To download data, you will need to create a unique password. For further help, please contact the official representative, Prof. Michael Waldman.