Use Google & Google News: For a crisis that was well covered in the mainstream media, Google will help identify timelines of the key events published by The Associated Press, Reuters, the BBC and The Guardian, etc. Be careful: often the timelines are just brief lists that only cover selected events or  time periods.You will need to supplement these lists with other news sources. Search Google using the company name and crisis keyword and the word "timeline."

Use the Wall Street Journal. Make your own timeline of the key events of the crisis situation by using  the Wall Street Journal. You can quickly search The Wall Street Journal in the database Factiva which includes the  WSJ  in all its regional (Asia, Europe, US) editions. Limit your search to the year (or years) of the crisis, sort your results by date from the oldest to the most current, and display the results in headline format. 

Use Google for a Country-specific Search. To find web pages published in a particular region or country, open "Settings" on the Google search bar and choose "Advanced Search."

Scroll down to the options to "Narrow Your Results" by region.

Use Google to identify stakeholders. Narrow your results by site or domain to identify stakeholders or other interest groups that responded to the crisis. Use Google's Advanced Search (shown above) or search with site:.gov or site:.org or site:.edu

Searching business databases will add perspective from business magazines and trade journals. 

Factiva is especially useful for its global coverage of business news. It includes articles from all international editions of The Wall Street Journal as well as breaking news coverage from Reuters and the Dow Jones Newswires. 

ABI/Inform is another useful business database that includes The Financial Times and the Economist magazine. 

Business Source Complete offers analysis from key business magazines including the Harvard Business Review. 

If your home or host country is an emerging market, use EMIS for local news coverage.