Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER) for Business: Start Here

OER Repositories

Merlot
A large collection of peer-reviewed online teaching and learning materials including case studies, tutorials and more. MERLOT opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System. Merlot offers discipline specific Communities.
OER Commons
A single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Open Stax. OER Commons has forged alliances with over 500 major content partners. Search by keyword, subject discipline, education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
SOL*R
Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs. Sharable Online Learning Resources is supported through BCcampuses in British Columbia.
OpenStax
Textbooks and free educational material in small modules. Users can create customized versions of the books - selecting specific content modules and adding their own.Founded in 1999 at Rice University.
Open Textbook Library
The library is sponsored by the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota. All textbooks have been reviewed by faculty and are in current use or are affiliated with a professional society.
OAPEN
OAPEN is the Open Access Publishing in European Network and their Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works directly with publishers to build a quality controlled open collection.
Cool4ed
A clearinghouse for open textbooks authored by faculty at three State of California Higher Education Systems (CCC, CSU and UC). Search for textbooks from Merlot or those available with a Creative Commons License.

OER Search Engine

OER Metafinder Search
Search over 15 OER repositories with one search. Developed by the libraries at George Mason University.

OER Resources for Business and Management

Open Textbook Library - Business
Business textbooks from University of Minnesota's Open Textbook Library. (You can find these books in the CUNY catalog.)
Merlot - Business Community Portal
Business is one of Merlot's discipline specific Communities. You can search by the ISBN of a current textbook to find related OER materials.
OER Commons - Management
Find free and open materials from multiple OER collections including Merlot and OpenStax. Search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
BC Campus Open Ed - Business
Free open textbooks created by the BC faculty. Funded by British Columbia's Ministry of Advanced Education. Open the "Subjects" at the left to find business resources.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Management
Lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments. For undergraduate and graduate courses.

eBooks

Please contact a librarian before assigning an eBook from one of these collections. We will confirm the conditions of ownership and access.

Ebook Central
Ebook Central (from ProQuest) is a collection of over 150,000 eBooks on a wide range of subjects.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
This eBook collection covers all subject areas and includes more than 1,000 titles.
APA Books
All books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) since 2001 including the APA Handbooks series. Download chapters in PDF format.
Gale eBooks
An online collection of reference works in all areas of knowledge. To see all the business titles choose from the list of "Collections" (on the right) on the home page.
Sage Research Methods
This database focuses on research methodology and includes eBooks, case studies, journal articles and video. You can browse or limit your search to a specific discipline including "Business and Management."
Directory of Open Access Books
Use the DOAB to search for eBooks freely available online. The collection includes over 12,000 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 272 publishers.

OER at CUNY

CUNY Academic Works
The Open Educational Resources series collects instructional materials -- from textbooks to syllabi -- created by the CUNY community. To find works from a specific college or school, browse by college.
Open@CUNY
A space to promote discussion of open scholarship, open access, open educational resources, and related topics.
Open Educational Resources
Guide finding, licensing and evaluating OER resources. From the Ursula C. Schwerin Library at New York City College of Technology.

Case Studies

Sage Business Cases
Over 4,000 case studies on companies, industries, and business issues.

Sources of free/open cases studies are limited. A few are listed below:

MIT Management Case Studies
LearningEdge, launched in 2009, is a collection of teaching case studies and management flight simulations developed by MIT Sloan faculty and students. MIT Sloan offers authorized educators worldwide free access to teaching notes and videos that accompany the teaching materials available on LearningEdge.
Journal of Business Case Studies
Scholarly journal published by the Clute Institute.
Business Case Journal
Scholarly journal featuring cases from the Society for Case Research.
New York Times Case Studies
Business cases from the New York Times focus on entrepreneurship and small business.

Harvard, Stanford, the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, and other University publishers offer case studies for purchase. Visit their websites for details.

Other Resources

The Faculty Guide to Media and Film will help you identify and license streaming content at Baruch.

To find free video on the web and video available in business databases use our guide to Video Resources for Business Faculty.

University of Oxford Podcasts
Audio and video lectures from Oxford University's Open Content.
Talks at GS
Goldman Sachs showcases interviews with thought leaders on current affairs, the arts, science and business.
Wall Street Journal Video
Brief video clips, most under 3 minutes, covering topics in the news, business, management, tech and culture.