First Year Seminar: Library Resources Fall 2019

Describes Newman Library databases focusing on literature and literary criticism as well as those on ethnic and gender studies.

When You Know The Publication's Name

Using "And" and "Or" to Build Your Keyword Searches

Keyword searches may be built by using the connectors "and" and "or" in your searches of the databases.

Using "and" will narrow the results to articles/records in the databases that contain both, or all the terms in your search.

Example: slavery and power  will retrieve records mentioning both terms   Other examples: novel and film adaption; music and culture  fate and theme

Using "or" will enlarge your search as either term will be retrieved

Connectors may be used in the same search  Example  (film or cinema or movie) and (fate as a theme) and (youth or childhood)

What Does Embargo Mean?

Some  database vendors agree that some journals may "embargo," or limit access to the full-text of the most recent issues for a specific period of time.

What to do if the article isn't available?

  • See it if is available in another database or in print.
  • Request the article(s) from Interlibrary Loan.  If the article is available, you will receive it.

What Does Find It? Mean

 

The article is not available full-text in the database.

Click on Find it! options at CUNY.  A new window will open

to see if the article is available in other databases;

to search to see if another CUNY library has the needed journal;

or if you will need to make an Interlibrary Loan request.

Interlibrary loan requests are free to students and faculty.  (The library pays any costs.)

Library Databases With Academic/Scholarly Journals and Other Resources

Searchers may limit results to scholarly or academic journals, as well as other limits, in databases that offer combinations of news, general interest and scholarly/academic publications.

Look for this option in the databases.

 

Databases that may be limited only to retrieve academic/scholarly and peer-reviewed articles include:

About Google Scholar