Articles - Nursing - A Research Guide for SPS Students

Journal Titles

Recommended Search Terms

Nursing
Nursing Practice
Evidence-Based
Nursing Care

These search terms may be useful when searching for articles within the databases. Pay attention to 'SUBJECTS' that are tagged on relevant articles when doing research as they may provide suggestions to improve your search.

Featured Database

JBI EBP Database (Ovid)
For the fields of nursing, medicine, and health sciences, find evidence summaries, evidence–based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, and more.

Previous database name: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.

Finding Articles in Databases

Need to find scholarly articles? Start by searching in these databases that the library subscribes to.

CINAHL Complete
Largest collection of journal articles covering the field of nursing and allied health. Includes coverage of health services administration.
JBI EBP Database (Ovid)
For the fields of nursing, medicine, and health sciences, find evidence summaries, evidence–based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, and more.

Previous database name: Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Articles from scholarly journals, professional journals, and newsletters.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Full-text articles on health and medical topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Access over over 550 scholarly full text journals in many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Find articles covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the preclinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Abstracts 4,000 biomedical journals. Updated monthly.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Contains full text access to nearly 3,200 magazines and journals covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Part of EBSCOhost.
Gale eBooks
Find entries in hundreds of specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Excellent for background research.
General Science Full Text
Articles covering all scientific disciplines.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and more.
APA PsycInfo
- This link opens in a new window
The place to begin any search for sources in the field of psychology. Over 5 million records for journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. Formerly known as PsycINFO. Learn how to use APA PsycInfo
SocINDEX with Full Text
Database with the full text for selected journals, monographs, books, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Finding Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

Off Campus Access

SPS usernames and passwords, for both SPS faculty and students, provide:

remote access to Newman Library's electronic resources (databases, ebooks, online journals, etc.)
on-site access to computers at the library
access to the wireless network

At the start of each semester the School of Professional Studies Help Desk sends username and password information to currently enrolled students to their SPS email addresses.

For questions about SPS usernames, passwords and ID Cards, contact the School of Professional Studies Help Desk:

(212) 652-2888
helpdesk@sps.cuny.edu

Baruch college | Newman Library

Nursing - A Research Guide for SPS Students