The Open Web

• Open government documents
• Malamud, Carl. Interview by Brooke Gladstone. "The Public Access Crusade of Carl Malamud." On the Media. National Public Radio, 23 Jul. 2010. Web. 16 May 2013.

• Open access publishing

Open Access 101, from SPARC from Karen Rustad on Vimeo.

• Should our blog be left open?

• Should we let it continue to be indexed?
• Search Google to see if you can find your posts
1. Search just using your real name
2. Search using your last name and "baruch" (e.g., francoeur and baruch)
3. Search using your screen name on the blog
4. Search using your screen name on the blog and "baruch"
• Pros and cons
• Should it be open to the world or limited to selected groups?
• Pros and cons
• Should we allow people to delete posts?
• Pros and cons
• Should we have the entire blog deleted?
• Pros and cons
• Survey about the fate of our blog

Feedback on the Quiz

Information Wants to Be Free

• "On the one hand information wants to be expensive, because it's so valuable. The right information in the right place just changes your life. On the other hand, information wants to be free, because the cost of getting it out is getting lower and lower all the time. So you have these two fighting against each other."--Stewart Brand, 1984
• Copyright
• Remixes, the cultural commons, and enclosure
• Watch part 1 and part 2 of "Everything Is a Remix"

Everything is a Remix Part 1 from Kirby Ferguson on Vimeo.

Everything is a Remix Part 2 from Kirby Ferguson on Vimeo.

Wikis and the Social Construction of Knowledge

• Jon Udell, "Heavy Metal Umlaut" (10 Feb. 2005)
• Wikipedia contributors. "Metal umlaut." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 6 May. 2013. Web. 9 May. 2013.
• Wookieepedia
• Transformers Wiki
• "Resources for Psychology Librarians." ACRL Wiki. Web. 9 May 2013.
• 25th Street Plaza Wiki

The Internet and Our Brains

• Group Activity
• Develop a research strategy to look into the question of whether students should be banned from using technology in classrooms for personal uses (as opposed to uses required for the course)
• 10 minutes: pre-search the topic
• 5 minutes: develop a list of the kinds of researchers who'd be experts in this area
• Each group reports back
• 5 minutes: figure out where you'd search for sources (e.g. names of specific databases)
• Each group reports back
• 5 minutes: what search terms would you and can you group any of those terms into clusters
• Each group reports back

Quiz (1 hour)

1. Read the New York Times article distributed in class.
2. In Google Docs, write an essay in which you detail the specific ways that Eli Pariser would likely respond to the newspaper story. Your essay should make as many connections as possible between the themes of The Filter Bubble and specific concepts and isses that Pariser raises. You may use your notes, the book, the web, anything you'd like, to respond. If you use any quoted material, make sure you cite your source; a simple set of parentheses at the end of the sentence where you've quoted material will do. Make sure you tell me the author of the source, the title of the work, and the page number (if any).
3. Share your essay with me via Google Docs. If you have any problems with Google Docs, feel free to type in Word and email me your essay as an attachment.

25th Street Plaza Project

• Work on pages in the wiki

Finish watching the Frontline special from PBS, "digital_nation."

Information Society

digital_nation

Watch Digital Nation on PBS. See more from FRONTLINE.

What Is Information

• DISCUSSION: Schement, Jorge Reina. "Information." Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. Ed. Jorge Reina Schement. Vol. 2. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 421-426. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 24 Apr. 2013.
• The information dynamic
• data --> information --> knowledge --> wisdom

25th Street Plaza Project

• ACTIVITY: Each student will work on an assigned page in the wiki for this project

For Next Tuesday (April 30)

• Read Lievrouw, Leah A. "Information Society, Description of." Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. Ed. Jorge Reina Schement. Vol. 2. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 430-437. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 25 Apr. 2013.

Blog Posts and Comments

25th Street Plaza Project

• Wiki site on PBworks

For Thursday, April 25

• Homework #3 due
• Read (handed out in class; also available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database)
• Schement, Jorge Reina. "Information." Encyclopedia of Communication and Information. Ed. Jorge Reina Schement. Vol. 2. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 421-426. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 24 Apr. 2013.

Information Literacy

• American Library Association. "Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education." American Library Association. ALA, 1 Sept. 2006. Web. 18 Apr. 2013.
• Jones, Daniel Dennis. "RB210: The New Knowledge Worker." MediaBerkman. Berkman Center for Internet & Society, 14 Mar. 2013. Web. 18 Apr. 2013.
• ACTIVITY
• While you listen to the Alison Head interview from MediaBerkman ("RB210: The New Knowledge Worker"), write down ideas of skills, competencies, and strategies for doing research you think we should try to cover in class for the rest of the semester. When the podcast is over, write up your thoughts in a blog post. As a class, we'll later review these ideas and work together to assemble the curriculum for the remainder of the course.

Chapter 8

• Presentation by Team 1
• Discussion
• Homework #3 assigned

Database Demo

• Thomson ONE 

Google Glass

• Each team will write a blog post detailing the likely unintended consequences and problems that Google Glass will have. Each blog post must make references to ideas in Pariser's book

 Facebook and Racism

• Each team will try to find points of connection between Pariser's book and this article:
• Garber, Megan. "When Your Facebook Friend Is Racist." The Atlantic. 5 Apr. 2013. Web. 9 Apr. 2013.
• Each team will write a blog post that uses quotes from Pariser's book (include page numbers) to make connections with the Megan Garber article on Facebook.

Chapter 7

• Presentation by Team 3

Google Glass and Augmented Reality

• Activity
• Each team should compose a group blog post detailing all the unintended consequences that might come from a society wearing Google Glass. Your blog post must make reference to specific ideas and critiques of augmented reality that Pariser talks about. You can also search on the web for more critical responses to the Google Glass project and incorporate those ideas (make sure you cite or link back to any sources you use).

Presentation by Team 4 on Chapter 6

Activity

1. Class read aloud of pages 173-175.
2. Write your own blog post listing all the technologies you used or interacted with so far today. Your list should not be randomly ordered; instead, try to create 2 or more categories to group the technologies listed. Be creative with your categories.
3. Meet up with your team and compare your lists. Then, from all the technologies your group came up with, find one that seems to have values of race, class, gender, or ability designed into it in some way. Discuss the value assumptions that seem to have been designed into the technology. Each team have one person send me an email that identifies the technology and some preliminary thoughts about the values encoded into the design of it.

Best practices for search

• Learn from your search results
• iterative searching
• identify new search terms
• scan the titles and abstracts
• Break up phrases in separate AND searches if possible
• Restrict the search location to fields to get higher precision
• title
• abstract
• subjects (descriptors)

Screenshots

• How to use the Snipping Tool in Windows 7 and Windows 8

Catching up

• Revise homework #2
• Write a blog post
• Write comments on the blog

Chapter 5

• Presentation by Team 5

Search Commands

Mid-semester Email

• Check your Baruch email for a message from me

Sources

• The BEAM Model

Database of the Day

• Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
• AND vs OR
• Subject headings
• Thesaurus

Homework #2 (due Thursday, March 21)

• Pretend that you are in a class where you are expected to write a paper exploring the intersection of privacy that people who work in companies can expect for their email. You need to find articles that will give you an introduction to the topic and maybe get into the real nitty-gritty issues that companies have to wrestle with respect to privacy and employee email. Using the database, Applied Science and Technology Source, run a number of searches until you find the one that does the best job of finding you a maximum number of relevant articles on the paper topic. Then, in a Google Doc, write up a short essay (1-2 paragraphs should do) in which you tell me what that best search is (a screenshot will do or a description of it will also suffice) and you give me an explanation of why the search query you came up with works so well (what refinements did you put into the final search query? how was it an improvement on the earlier queries you may have tried?)
• After you've written your essay, please share it with me via Google Docs.

Feedback on Homework #1

• Maximum of 35 points
• Graded on clarity, coherence, creativity, and correctness

Majors and Minors

• Take the survey

Presentation by Team 2 on Chapter 4

Trade Journals

• Definition
• As distinguished from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers
• Finding trade journal articles in the library database ABI/INFORM Global

Debate or Individual Blog Post

• Vote

What Google (Thinks It) Knows about You

• Location History
• Account Activity
• Search History
• Ads Preferences

What Facebook (Thinks It) Knows about You

• Advertising on Facebook
• About Ads: How does Facebook decide what ads to show me?
• Recommended Pages
• Wolfram|Alpha Personal Analytics for Facebook

In-Class Activity

• Discuss (either as a classroom debate or in an individual blog post) whether Facebook or Google does a better job of understanding who you are. You must use quotes from chapter 4 of The Filter Bubble.

Last Thursday's Debate

• precision vs. recall

Homework Points Explanation

• homework vs. blog posts vs. blog comments

Team Presentations

• your questions answered

Blogging Day

• IN-CLASS ACTIVITY
• write two comments to existing posts on the blog
• each comment should refer to an idea that Pariser discusses in The Filter Bubble

Consequences of New Information Communication Technologies

Create your own mind maps at MindMeister

Team Presentations on The Filter Bubble

• Review of what's expected (detailed on the "Assignments" tab of this course site)
• Assignment of chapters to teams

Classroom Debate

• Demonstration of searching in Articles search box (also known as Bearcat Search), General Science Full Text, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Individual exploration of Bearcat Search, General Science Full Text, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO (go to the "Databases" page on library website to find links to these)
• First, search for a definition of "confirmation bias" in Gale Virtual Reference Library
• Next, run searches in Bearcat Search, General Science Full Text, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO
• Look at the search results in all four databases and think about:
• What types of publications come up in the search results (e.g., magazine articles, journal articles, ebooks, doctoral dissertations, newspaper articles, etc.)?
• What subject areas/disciplines are covered in each database?
• If a database is focused on articles in a particular discipline, how does that affect the way that the topic of "confirmation bias" is discussed?
• Next: Prepare for a debate
• Teams 1 and 2 will combine to argue that the Articles search box (also known as Bearcat Search) on the library home page is more effective tool for research on the topic of "confirmation bias" than subject-specific databases earcat is better.
• Teams 3 and 5 will combine to argue that the subject-specific databases are better.
• Team 4 will serve as moderators of the debate
• Both sides (1+2 and 3+5) and the moderators (4) should draw up a written list of points they'll make
• Points that you make should be explicitly connected to the isses that Pariser raises in chapter 3 of the book (where he talks about serendipity, solution horizons, creativity, bisociation, blind discovery, breaking perceptual sets, meaning threats, etc.)
• IT'S ON!!! Let the debate begin

Homework for Today

Where You Get Your News

• take the survey
• Questions adapted from Carolyn Miller et al, "How People Get Local News and Information in Different Communities," Pew Internet. Pew Internet and Life Project, 26 Sep. 2012. Web. 26 Feb. 2013.
• view the results
  

Chapter 2 in the Filter Bubble

• TEAM ACTIVITY: mind map chapter 2; one group will present
• discussion

Discourse

• PageRank
• Web of Science
• Google Scholar
• Google Ngram Viewer

Chapter 2 in The Filter Bubble

• Group activities
• Mind map of the chapter
• Write a team blog post listing all the ways you find or encounter news stories. Then come up with a survey instrument that you would use to ask your classmates how they find or encounter the news.

Cookies

• "How Advertisers Uses Internet Cookies to Track You." WSJ. Online video clip. Web. 30 Jul. 2010.

Blogging and Commenting

• Do we need due dates?

Finding Stuff Using the Library Website

• Using the "Articles" search
• Using the "Journals" search
• Finding a specific database
• Finding a database by subject it covers

Survey of What to Call Our Subject Guides

Review of Chapter 1 in The Filter Bubble

What Is Discourse

• PageRank in Google
• Citation indexing in Web of Science

Source Types

• Books
• Articles
• Sources in the introduction to Pariser's The Filter Bubble
• Which sources in the notes for the book's introduction are books?
• Which parts of the citation indicate that it's a book?

Homework #1: Sources That Pariser Uses

• Assignment is explained. Due by the start of class on Feb. 26.

In-Class Activity

1. Meet up with your collaboration team
   
2. Create a mind map that gives an overview of what's important in chapter 1 of The Filter Bubble

Search and Google

Homework on the Blog

• New posts
• Comments on existing posts

Discourse

• Notes at the end of The Filter Bubble
• ACTIVITY
1. Meet up with your collaboration team
2. Look at the notes section for Pariser's "Introduction"  (p. 253-257)
3. For notes that cite a source, make sure you can identify what kind of source it is
4. Come up with a system for categorizing the different kinds of sources and then make a note of how many sources go each category.
• TIP: There is no right answer for how to categorize the sources; there are some systems though that may make more sense and that are more useful to you as a reader
5. One member of your team will create a blog post titled, "Team #_ on Sources in The Filter Bubble"
6. In that post, your team will describe a scheme for categorizing the sources that Pariser cites in his notes, list the categories, indicate how many sources are in each category, and give an example of one source for each category (bonus points if you type out the example source using MLA citation)
• TIP: There are 35 different sources mentioned in the notes. Make sure your numbers add up to 35.

For Next Week

• No class on Tuesday (college closed)
• For Thursday, read chapter 1, "The Race for Relevance," in The Filter Bubble
• Come with your list of names, keywords, etc.
• Be ready to create a mind map with your collabortion team in class 

Email Delivery of Blog Posts

• Sign up using the form on the right column of the course blog (see this screenshot of the blog for location of the form)

Demonstration

• Finding the New York Times article on Facebook's new search tool using the library website
  

Collaboration Teams

• Formation of 3-person teams

In-Class Activity: Concept Mapping the NY Times Article

• In your collaboration teams, work to create a mind map of the article and be ready to present it to the class

Discussion of "Introduction," The Filter Bubble

• List of people, companies, organizations, and keywords
  

• Mind map of Pariser's "Introduction"
  

• My Slides on the "Introduction" to Eli Pariser's The Filter Bubble

Getting Started with Blogging

• Login for our course blog
  
• Instructions for students

Engaged Reading

• Concept mapping (AKA mind mapping)
• Note taking (focus on expertise of the author, people mentioned in text, keywords/big ideas)

In-Class Activity: Tracking Down an Article and Blogging About It

• Find the New York Times article from January 28 that talked about Facebook's new search tool, Graph Search
• See if you can figure out how to the library's website to find that article
• Keep notes on all the steps that you took (including the wrong turns and missteps)
• Write a post on the blog that includes the following:
• Your notes about the steps you took to find the article
• What you can find out about the author of the article (who she is, etc.) and what if any is her expertise on this topic
• A list of all the people mentioned in the article and a phrase of two about each that sums up who they are
• A list of all the keywords/ideas in the article

Social Media & Technology Use

• Survey (password protected)

Eli Pariser - "Beware Online 'Filter Bubbles'"